Debra Hadfield, NCTM   Plano, TX 75023 Email President debra.hadfield_PLEASEvREMOVE_ Ατ _THISvSPAM-FIGHTING_tmta_TEXTvPLEASE_.org
Show Email Link 

Immediate Past President
Sharon Callahan   The Woodlands, TX 77381 Email Immedate Past President
Karen Wallace   Houston, TX 77083 Email President-Elect
Vice President for Business Activities
Dr. Roy Wylie, NCTM   Houston, TX 77077 Email VPBA
Vice President for Student Activities
Rick Valentine   Houston, TX 77035 Email VPSA


Contact emails of the board of directors may be obtained by submitting your email address in either or both of the forms below.

Board Members List 1 (through College Student Chapters Chair)

Board Members List 2 (MTNA/TMTA Director III through end)

Awards Director*:
Bonnie Dove (2013 - 2015)
  Arlington, TX  76016
      TMTA Teacher Recognition:
      Doris Lum-Meyer, NCTM (2013 - 2014)
  Conroe, TX  77304
      TMTA Best of State Local Association Award:
      Diana Dyer, NCTM  (2012 - 2015)
  San Angelo, TX  76904
Certification Director*:
Sharla Van Cleave, NCTM (2013 - 2016)
  Abilene, TX  79605
Delegate Assembly Director I*:
Beverly Ryan  (2012 - 2014)
  Garland, TX 75043
Delegate Assembly Director II*:
Michele Crawford (2013-2015)
  Arlington, TX 76017
Communications Director*:
Andrea Warren, NCTM (2011 - 2014)
  Houston, TX  77062
      Texas Music Teacher Editor:
      Teresa Crawford, NCTM   Allen, TX   75002
      TMTA Webmaster:
       Andrea Warren, NCTM
  Houston, TX  77062
      Assistant Webmaster:
       Janelle Schlaudt, NCTM
  San Angelo, TX  76901
MTNA/TMTA Activities Director I*:
Diane Morrow, NCTM (2013 - 2016)
  El Paso, TX  79912
      Arts Awareness & Advocacy:
      Jeanie Valentine (2013 - 2016)
  Houston, TX  77035
      Independent Music Teachers Forum:
      Betty Bassuk (2011 - 2014)
  El Paso, TX 79924
      Mario Ajero (2012 - 2015)
   Nacogdoches, TX 75962
MTNA/TMTA Activities Director II*:
Leslie Spotz (2012 - 2015)
  Stephenville, TX  76402 
      College Faculty Forum:
      Richard Fountain, NCTM (2012 - 2015)
  Plainview, TX  79072 
      College Student Chapters:
       Alison Fischer (2013 - 2016)
  Grand Prairie, TX 75052
MTNA/TMTA Activities Director III*:
Sheree Naquin  (2013 - 2016)
  Dripping Springs, TX  78620
      MTNA/TMTA Performance Competitions:
       Cindy Hessong (2012 - 2015)
  Bryan, TX  77801
      MTNA/TMTA Composition Competition:
      Sheree Naquin (2012 - 2015)
  Dripping Springs, TX  78620
      Collaborative Arts Chair
      Mary Loy (2012 - 2015)
  The Woodlands, TX  77382
MTNA/TMTA Activities Director IV*:
Cindy Hessong  (2013 - 2014)
  Bryan, TX  77801
      MTNA/TMTA Foundation:
      Elise Russell (2011 - 2014)
  Sugarland, TX  77479
      MTNA/TMTA Commissioning Program:
       Brad Beckman (2011 - 2014)
  Dallas, TX  75230
      Growth and Development Chair
       Lydia Bratcher, NCTM (2013 - 2016)
  Waco, TX  76712
      Public Relations/Marketing Chair
       Tammy Meinershagen (2013 - 2016)
  Frisco, TX  75034
TMTA Nominations & Elections:
Susan Conner, NCTM, Chair
  Winters, TX 79567
TMTEF Trustees:
Sherry Frush, NCTM (2008-2014)*
  Abilene, TX  79605
Susan Conner, NCTM (2010-2016)
  Winters, TX  79567  
Naulene Pittman (2012-2018)
  Grand Prairie, TX  75052  
TMTA Trustees:
June Leondar, NCTM (2008-2014)*
  Fort Worth, TX  76108
Celinda Hallbauer, NCTM (2010 - 2016)
  Belton, TX  76513
Elizabeth Gutierrez, NCTM (2012 - 2018)
  San Antonio, TX  78256
Teacher Enrichment Conference Chair:
June Leondar, NCTM   Fort Worth, TX 76108  
*Voting member

Back To Top

Steering Committee

Convention Steering Committee Chair President-Elect
Karen Wallace
Officer Advisor
Sharon Callahan
Convention Manager
Abby Billins, TMTA Staff
Assistant Convention Manager
Program Book

Christiana Clark, TMTA Staff
Exhibits and Advertising Manager
TMTA Staff
Concerts and Recitals
Rick Valentine
Local Arrangements
Resa Carrell
Erica Vosburg
Media Publicity Chair
Sherry Frush, NCTM
Piper Ward
Program Book Proofing
Joan Richling
TMTA Officers
Rooms and Equipment
Chris Clark, TMTA Staff

Back To Top

Student Affiliate Coordinators

The Vice President for Student Activities is elected by the membership of Texas Music Teachers Association. The VPSA presides as chair of the Student Affiliate Committee. The Committee adheres to TMTA Bylaws, the Standing Rules, and the Policies and Procedures set by the SA Committee and Executive Board.

Voting members of the Student Affiliate Committee consist of the VPSA and activity coordinators. All chairs, assistants and committee members are also members of the SA Committee. Members of the Committee are expected to attend Committee meetings and participate in Student Affiliate convention activities and programs.

Names of all SA appointees must be submitted annually by the VPSA to the TMTA Executive Board for approval. All appointments are for one year with a maximum tenure of three years. A coordinator may not serve as a chair or assistant coordinator of a specific activity after having served as coordinator. Chairs and assistants may move upward within the structure of an activity.

Contact emails of the Student Affiliate Coordinators may be obtained by filling in your email address in the form below.

Student Affiliate Coordinators

Chair, Student Affiliate Committee
Rick Valentine (2013 - 2014) Email VPSA
Ensemble Programs
Candace McCall (2012 - 2015)
Original Composition
Steffanie Wells (2013 - 2016)
Rebecca Landreth, NCTM
Performance Contests
Pamela Holleman (2013 - 2016)
Jerry Cornish (2011 - 2014)
Student Affiliate Booth
Lynn Leach (2011 - 2014)
Student Affiliate Communications
Jolie Bailey, NCTM (2012 - 2015)
Student Recognition
Teresa Crawford, NCTM (2012 - 2015)
Rebecca Landreth, NCTM (2011 - 2014)
World of Music
Jan Foreman, NCTM (2012 - 2015)
TMTA Convention Student Activities
Teresa Stephenson (2013 - 2016)
      TMTA All-Star Festival Chair:
      Alison Fischer (2012 - 2015)
      TMTA Digital Keyboard Orchestra Reading Session Chair:
      Anna Kiefer (2011 - 2014)
      TMTA Convention Projects Chair:
      Omar Granados, NCTM (2012 - 2015)
      TMTA Chamber Music Clinic Chair:
       Sarah Alexander (2012 - 2015)
      TMTA June Leondar Chamber Music/Ensemble Music Contests Chair:
      Kyoshi Tamagawa, NCTM (2012 - 2015)
      TMTA Music Appreciation Online:
      Teresa Stephenson
Back To Top

Past Presidents Advisory Council

Term Past President
2011-2012 Sharon Callahan
2008-2010 Janelle Schlaudt, NCTM
2006-2008 Susan Conner, NCTM
2004-2006 Sherry Frush, NCTM
2002-2004 Celinda Hallbauer, NCTM
1998-2000 Dr. Ruth Pitts, NCTM
1996-1998 Joy Finley, NCTM
1994-1996 Melody Allen, NCTM
1990-1992 Ella Louise Burba, NCTM
1988-1990 June Leondar, NCTM
1980-1982 Philelle McBrayer, NCTM
1972-1974 Sarah Kerr, NCTM

Click here for a full list of TMTA presidents from 1886.

Click here for a full list of Student Affiliate coordinators from 1952.

TMTA Staff

Office Manager
Christiana Clark Email Office Manager
Convention Exhibits and Advertising  
Christiana Clark Email Office Manager
Database Manager and Convention Manager  
Abby Billins Email Office

   © TMTA 2014. All Rights Reserved.