2021 Convention

2021 TMTA Summer Virtual Events

Registration is not required. 

Friday, June 18 – TMTA Collegiate Conference
     Facilitator: Dr. Mario Ajero, NCTM
10:00 am   Opening remarks; Dr. Ajero
10:15 am   Q/A on “Building your Pre-College Studio”; Dr. Chien-Jung Chen (Music Academy of Houston)
10:45 am   Collegiate Student Sessions; Students from UT Austin, UT Rio Grande Valley, and Stephen F. Austin
12:00 pm   Lunch Break and Networking
1:00 pm     Teaching with Technology; Dr. Mario Ajero (Stephen F. Austin State University)
1:30 pm     Collegiate Poster Sessions; Students from Baylor and Texas Tech
2:15 pm     Job Applications in Academia; Dr. Oscar Macchioni (University of Texas at El Paso)

Saturday, June 19 – IMTF Forum
     Facilitator: Dr. Scott Donald, NCTM
2:00 pm      Revisiting our Core Values; Alison Barr
3:00 pm      Mindfulness in the Studio; Matthew Kline
4:00 pm      Where do we Go from Here?; Scott Donald

Sunday, June 20 – Delegate Assembly/General Session
including New Faculty and Commissioned Composer recitals
     Facilitated by Dr. Richard Fountain, NCTM, Dr. Roy Wylie, NCTM, and Stathia Orwig, Delegate Director I

Opening of the General Session – Dr. Roy Wylie, NCTM, TMTA President
      Approval of the Agenda
      Approval of the 2019 General Sessions Minutes
Installation of new VPBA – Julie Arras, NCTM
Vice President for Business Activities – Spring Seals, NCTM
Commissioned Composer for 2020 – Dr. Todd van Kekerix, NCTM
Teacher of the Year Awards – Linda Parr
Commissioned Composer for 2021 and
      announcement of 2022 winner – Dr. Todd van Kekerix, NCTM
Opening of the Delegate Assembly – Stathia Orwig, NCTM and Sheryl Speelman, NCTM
      Introductory Activity
      Election of the 2021 Delegate Director II
      Election of one member to the Nominating Committee
      General discussion of TMTA issues
Closing of the Delegate Assembly
New Faculty Performances – Dr. Oscar Macchioni, NCTM
Closing of the convention