MTNA National Competitions


MTNA/TMTA Performance Competitions

The purpose of the Music Teachers National Association Performance Competitions is to provide educational experiences for students and teachers and to recognize exceptionally talented young artists and their teachers in their pursuit of musical excellence.

The state competitions are considered the primary educational level with the division and national levels showcasing outstanding performance and honoring significant pedagogical achievement.

All applications must be submitted to MTNA online. 

For more information please click here.

MTNA/TMTA Composition Competitions 

The purpose of the composition competition sponsored by Music Teachers National Association is to encourage creativity and self-expression in student musicians through the art of composing and to recognize their achievements, as well as the significant work of their teachers.  

All applications must be submitted to MTNA online. 

For more information please click here.

2019 MTNA Performance Contest Winners

Displaying Molly Snodgrass.JPG 1st Place-Molly Snodgrass, Student of Michelle Hache, MTNA Senior Voice Competition
Displaying Subin Cho.JPG 1st Place-Subin Cho, flute, Student of Monica Song, MTNA Senior Woodwind Competition
Displaying Hayoung Moon.JPG 2nd Place-Hayoung Moon, cello, Student of Gary Hardie, MTNA Senior String Competition
Displaying Isaac Foreman.JPG 2nd Place-Isaac Foreman, Student of Tamas Ungar, Texas Christian University, MTNA Young Artist Piano Competition
Displaying Aruna Quartet.JPG 3rd Place-Aruna Quartet, Coached by David Dees, Texas Tech University; MTNA Young Artist Chamber Music Wind Competition; William Pyle, soprano saxophone; Jose Guzman, alto saxophone; Ryan Hill, tenor saxophone; Andrew Schoen, baritone saxophone